Main Menu

Toads Poison Use Is Not An Ancient Indigneous Tradition

Started by Handshake, November 30, 2017, 08:14:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Handshake

This is a deleted scene from the recent toad documentary on Hamilton's Pharmacopoeia which features interviews from tribe members talking about the true purpose/meaning of toads in their rituals.

Copying and reposting this from the desk of herpetologist Robert Anthony Villa addressing his concerns on the Sonoran desert toad:
Quote"I worked as a consultant and fixer on the episode of Hamilton's Pharmacopeia that features Dr. Sandoval. There are a few issues that have come up since the airing of the piece. I will attempt to address them. It is part of a written piece I'm working on as a response to elucidate more details about the ethnoherpetology of Bufo alvarius.

The discovery of 5meoDMT in Bufo alvarius:
Bufo alvarius is the only animal known to produce 5meoDMT, one of the most powerful hallucinogens available to humans. If ancient American cultures utilized B. alvarius as a hallucinogen, there is no orally preserved tradition to indicate so. Papers treating this question are speculative and inconclusive. Such a significant compound as 5meoDMT is unlikely to have been forgotten following European contact. The depiction of frogs and toads (anurans) in ancient American material is for their significance as beings that dually inhabited the realms of land and water, underwent a remarkable metamorphosis, and were harbingers of live-giving seasonal rain. Toad remains associated with shamanic burial are identified as B. marinus.